FormulaNerds Cut To The Race Podcast

#RussianGP – Hamilton Takes Pole as Vettel Crashes Out

Latest Episode | Cut To The Race Podcast

Lewis Hamilton survived a dramatic qualifying session to put his Mercedes on pole position for the Russian Grand Prix.

Hamilton came within less than a second of falling at the second hurdle – after Sebastian Vettel crashed out in his Ferrari – before making it through to Q3 and then obliterating the opposition.

The world champion finished a staggering 0.563 seconds clear of Red Bull’s Max Verstappen at the Sochi Autodrom, with Valtteri Bottas third.

Hamilton will join Michael Schumacher with the most number of victories in Formula One history should he triumph for a 91st time on Sunday.

However, his pole lap is subject to an investigation with the Briton summoned to see the stewards for allegedly ignoring the race directors’ instructions.

Vettel’s high-speed crash in Q2 led to the most exciting qualifying session of the season in front of tens of thousands of fans as spectators returned to watch F1 for the first time this year.

The quadruple world champion lost control of his Ferrari through the right-handed Turn 4 before slamming into the barriers.

Charles Leclerc was running behind his team-mate and almost collected Vettel, who rebounded off the wall and into the middle of the road. “Oh my God… that was very very close,” said Leclerc as he ran over Vettel’s debris.

Qualifying times

  1. Lewis Hamilton (Gbr) Mercedes GP 1min 31.304secs
  2. Max Verstappen (Ned) Red Bull 1:31.867
  3. Valtteri Bottas (Fin) Mercedes GP 1:31.956
  4. Sergio Perez (Mex) Racing Point 1:32.317
  5. Daniel Ricciardo (Aus) Renault 1:32.364
  6. Carlos Sainz (Spa) McLaren 1:32.550
  7. Esteban Ocon (Fra) Renault 1:32.624
  8. Lando Norris (Gbr) McLaren 1:32.847
  9. Pierre Gasly (Fra) Scuderia AlphaTauri 1:33.000
  10. Alexander Albon (Tha) Red Bull 1:33.008
  11. Charles Leclerc (Mon) Ferrari 1:33.239
  12. Daniil Kvyat (Rus) Scuderia AlphaTauri 1:33.249
  13. Lance Stroll (Can) Racing Point 1:33.364
  14. George Russell (Gbr) Williams 1:33.583
  15. Sebastian Vettel (Ger) Ferrari 1:33.609
  16. Romain Grosjean (Fra) Haas F1 1:34.592
  17. Antonio Giovinazzi (Ita) Alfa Romeo Racing 1:34.594
  18. Kevin Magnussen (Den) Haas F1 1:34.681
  19. Nicholas Latifi (Can) Williams 1:35.066
  20. Kimi Raikkonen (Fin) Alfa Romeo Racing 1:35.267

Source: Telegraph

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Back to the top