FormulaNerds Cut To The Race Podcast

Formula 2 Spanish GP in Barcelona

Formula 2 Sprint Race in Barcelona: Post-Race Penalties Shake Up Results

The final order has been shaken up after a number of penalties were applied

Latest Episode | Cut To The Race Podcast

Following an eventful Formula 2 Sprint Race in Barcelona, multiple drivers received post-race time penalties for track limit violations, significantly altering the final standings.

Paul Aron in Barcelona
Paul Aron of Estonia and Hitech Pulse-Eight (17) walks in the Paddock during the Round 6 Barcelona Sprint race of the Formula 2 Championship at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya on June 22, 2024 in Barcelona, Spain. (Photo by James Sutton – Formula 1/Formula Motorsport Limited via Getty Images)
Juan Manuel Correa’s Penalty

Initially celebrating a third-place finish in Barcelona, Juan Manuel Correa was found to have breached track limits four times. This infringement led to a five-second time penalty, demoting the DAMS Lucas Oil driver to eighth place. Consequently, Hitech Pulse-Eight’s Paul Aron, who had secured his maiden F2 pole position earlier in the weekend, was promoted to third.

Other Notable Penalties

Dennis Hauger faced similar scrutiny, receiving two separate five-second penalties for his fourth and fifth track limit breaches during the first race of the Formula 2 weekend. Initially finishing ninth, the MP Motorsport driver was relegated to 12th after the penalties were applied.

Andrea Kimi Antonelli of PREMA Racing also fell foul of the stewards, receiving a five-second penalty for his fourth track limits violation. The Italian, who had crossed the line in 10th, dropped to 15th in the final classification.

MP Motorsport’s Franco Colapinto was penalised twice, resulting in a ten-second addition to his time. Originally 11th, the Argentinian driver was pushed down to 18th place.

Rafael Villagómez of Van Amersfoort Racing received a five-second penalty for his fourth track limits violation, moving him from 15th to 17th.

Zane Maloney from Rodin Motorsport incurred an additional five-second penalty for his sixth track limits breach, having already served ten seconds during the race. This dropped the Bajan driver from 19th to 20th position.

Trident’s Roman Stanek was handed a five-second penalty for his fifth track limits violation, maintaining his position in 22nd after the penalty application.

Race Overview and Key Moments in Barcelona

The Barcelona Formula 2 Sprint Race was marked by strategic tyre management and numerous track limit infringements. Victor Martins emerged victorious, marking his first win of the season. Starting from the front row, Martins quickly took the lead from pole-sitter Kush Maini and managed his tyres effectively to stay ahead.

Despite a strong start, Maini struggled to maintain his position, eventually finishing second. By benefiting from Correa’s penalty, Paul Aron secured the final podium spot of the Formula 2 Sprint race.

The race saw several intense battles, particularly involving Correa, who fought his way back into the top positions before his penalty was imposed. Dennis Hauger, Andrea Kimi Antonelli, and Franco Colapinto engaged in close battles but ultimately lost their positions due to track limit penalties.

Final results of the Formula 2 Sprint race
  1. Martins
  2. Maini
  3. Aron
  4. Crawford
  5. Bortoleto
  6. Hadjar
  7. Miyata
  8. Correa
  9. O’Sullivan
  10. Dürksen
  11. Marti
  12. Hauger
  13. Verschoor
  14. Cordeel
  15. Antonelli
  16. Fittipaldi
  17. Villagómez
  18. Colapinto
  19. Barnard
  20. Maloney
  21. Bearman
  22. Stanek

Feature Image Credit: Chris Graythen via Getty Images

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Back to the top