Image Credit: Mclaren.

Could Lando’s Licence Penalties Lead To A Race Ban?

Stewards summoned multiple drivers after the final lap.

Lando is currently on 10 licence penalty points which will change before the British Grand Prix. 

Norris is set to lose two penalty points at Silverstone. This will happen as it’s almost 12 months since he got his first two points.

Lando said, “There should be decisions when someone’s done something dangerous and put someone in harm’s way and done something that they clearly shouldn’t have done – and then you have racing when people have to use common sense. Nothing I’ve done is dangerous. Maybe in some cases, you deserve an on-track penalty because you did something bad in terms of racing, and you just made a mistake. But then you have things that people do every now and then, which is purely dangerous.”

According to all of the penalties, The Brit shouldn’t lose any more points until November. At present, Lando has 2 points for overtaking under yellows in free practice session 1 at last year’s Styrian GP. Then 3 points for not slowing for yellows in Turkey at qualifying in 2020. Also 3 points for not pitting under the red flag during this year’s Azerbaijan qualifying. Lastly 2 points for forcing Perez off the track into the gravel at today’s Austrian GP. This is not good news for Mclaren.

In 2014, the superlicence penalty points system was established. The aim is to track points and ban repeat offenders for their incidental offences spanning a 12-month period. None of the drivers have been banned yet but many have come close.

Additionally, stewards summoned eleven drivers after the final lap when Kimi Raikkonen and Sebastian Vettel collided sending them spinning onto the gravel for not acknowledging the double waved yellow flags. Drivers including Carlos Sainz (5th), Sergio Perez (6th), Daniel Ricciardo (7th), Charles Leclerc (8th), Pierre Gasly (9th), George Russell (11th), Antonio Giovinazzi (14th), Nicholas Latifi (15th) and Nikita Mazepin (19th) had to speak with the stewards.

Raikkonen, Latifi and Mazepin were given post-race penalties. Raikkonen received a 20-second penalty for the last lap incident. Latifi and Mazepin got 10-second stop-and-go penalties which were converted after the race to 30-second time penalties. The duo received three penalty points.

All of a sudden, the FIA stepped up on penalties. What does this mean for upcoming races?

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.