Cut To The Race Podcast

BERLIN TEMPELHOF AIRPORT, GERMANY - MAY 14: Edoardo Mortara (CHE), ROKiT Venturi Racing, Silver Arrow 02 during the Berlin ePrix I at Berlin Tempelhof Airport on Saturday May 14, 2022 in Berlin, Germany. (Photo by Sam Bloxham / LAT Images)

Mortara rises upon title contenders at the Berlin E-Prix

Latest Episode | Cut To The Race Podcast

Eduardo Mortara snatches the second win of the season in the Berlin E-Prix as championship leaders Vergne and Vandoorne displayed a great racing challenge for the podium.

The Venturi driver left it to the last 10 minutes to activate his final attack mode. He battled it out against Andre Lotterer and Stoffel Vandoorne who went ahead of him during the activation.

Lotterer was the first to run out of the attack mode session, and Vandoorne and Mortara were left racing for first place. Mortara got through to get back in the lead.

There was a great race between championship leaders Jean-Eric Vergne and Stoffel Vandoorne, as Lotterer lost positions and gave way for the two to fight it out.

Vergne decided to use his fan boost in the last five minutes and also overtook Vandoorne to get back to second place, after struggling to keep up with the Porsche’s pace. There was half a second seperating the top two, and Vergne kept fighting to take the win from Mortara. Meanwhile he was also being hunted down by his championship contender Vandoorne in the Mercedes.

Vergne finished off in second place while his contender went on to cross the finish line in third.

Mortara leads throughout

Edoardo Mortara got a great lead up the front after a clean start from the drivers and went on to lead the race.

As Mortara went on to activate his attack mode, he only lost one position to Lotterer in the Porsche and regained his first place once again at turn one, with 21 minutes remaining on the clock.

The race leader was put under investigation for suspecting overspeeding in the pitlane. Considering that the stewards will look at it after the race, the Swiss will probably be fined rather than given a time penalty.

Vandoorne’s Recovery

Stoffel Vandoorne made a good recovery in the Mercedes after he started in eighth place. Having been awarded a fan boost, he used it to keep third place and try his best to keep the Techeetahs behind him. As Lotterer ahead of him activated the attack mode, he managed to snatch second place but was being hunted down by a boosted Porsche.

Mercedes decided to give it their all in the last 12 minutes, and was running in third place as Vandoorne activated his last attack mode.

Porsche’s Race

Porsche had great pace as Andre Lotterer was running in third and looking to achieve a podium for the team. Meanwhile, Pascal Wehrlein was struggling in sixth, claiming that the tires had no grip. He activated his attack mode to give his car an extra boost for four minutes and saw him go up to fifth then. At 30 minutes, at turn six, Wehrlein swapped positions with his teammate to take advantage of his booster and try to gain more positions for Porsche. Lotterer followed by activating his attack mode too.

Wehrlein proceeded to attack Vergne next in the Techeetah, who followed with the attack mode. The Porsche went on to get ahead of Antonio Felix Da Costa too and from struggling to chasing the Mortara in the Venturi to win the race.

Meanwhile, his teammate Lotterer was also gaining with the attack mode and was running in fourth ahead of both Techeetah. As the German ran out of attack mode, he was given the go ahead to pass his teammate who ended up in the fifth position after a battle against both Techeetah.

The others in the back

Alexander Sims struggled to keep his second place which he started in. The Techeetahs and Porsches proved a good fight against the Mahindra but the attack mode managed to help him battle it out.

The Mahindra finished in a devastating ninth as Mitch Evans and Sam Bird made a good comeback for the Jaguars who started in ninth and fifteenth respectively.

Final Results

  1. Edoardo Mortara (Venturi)
  2. Jean-Eric Vergne (Techeetah
  3. Stoffel Vandoorne (Mercedes)
  4. Andre Lotterer (Porsche)
  5. Mitch Evans (Jaguar)
  6. Pascal Wehrlein (Porsche)
  7. Sam Bird (Jaguar)
  8. Antonio Felix Da Costa (Techeetah)
  9. Alexander Sims (Mahindra)
  10. Nyck De Vries (Mercedes)
  11. Oliver Rowland (Mahindra)
  12. Robin Frijns (Envision)
  13. Jake Dennis (Avalanche Andretti)
  14. Sebastian Buemi (Nissan)
  15. Oliver Askew (Avalanche Andretti)
  16. Oliver Turvey (NIO 333)
  17. Sergio Sette Camara (Dragon/Penske)
  18. Maximilian Gunther (Nissan)
  19. Dan Ticktum (NIO 333)
  20. Antonio Giovinazzi (Dragon/Penske)
  21. Lucas Di Grassi (Venturi) DNF
  22. Nick Cassidy (Envision) DNF

Feature Image Credit: FIA Formula E

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Back to the top