FormulaNerds Cut To The Race Podcast

BAHRAIN, BAHRAIN - MARCH 20: Race winner Charles Leclerc of Monaco and Ferrari and Second placed Carlos Sainz of Spain and Ferrari celebrate with their team in parc ferme during the F1 Grand Prix of Bahrain at Bahrain International Circuit on March 20, 2022 in Bahrain, Bahrain. (Photo by Mark Thompson/Getty Images)

Bahrain Grand Prix: Race Report

Latest Episode | Cut To The Race Podcast

Ferrari earn themselves redemption at the Bahrain Grand Prix with a 1-2 thanks to Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz.

Max Verstappen was forced to retire from the race after he was overtaken by Sainz too after his battery failed.

Later on, Sergio Perez also had trouble with his battery and was put under pressure by Lewis Hamilton.

The engine then failed at turn one on the last lap for Perez and saw Hamilton overtake him to earn himself a third-place podium.

This is the first 1-2 in three years for Ferrari after the last one was in the 2019 Singapore Grand Prix.

Ferrari vs Red Bull

Charles Leclerc looked to dominate the race, as he went on to have a clear start.

The Ferrari frustrated Max Verstappen who could not find a way to overtake the Monaguesque.

At Lap 17, Verstappen overtook Leclerc at turn one but then was caught up three turns later.

The race between the two went on for two other laps, consistently overtaking each other.

At Lap 19, Verstappen overtook Leclerc once again at turn one but a lock-up made it easy for Leclerc to overtake him again and got a great lead of the race once again.

Both Red Bulls made three pit stops as they put both cars on the soft compound.

Ferrari reacted by sending Sainz in to change him to the soft compound too but did not risk pitting Leclerc as he had a good lead.

After the Alpha Tauri caused a safety car, Ferrari took the opportunity to put Leclerc on the soft compound, hoping that it will take him to finish the race first and keep the lead on fresher tires.

As the safety car finished, Max Verstappen still didn’t manage to overtake the Ferrari and was put under pressure by Carlos Sainz too.

AlphaTauri Caught on Fire

Lap 46 saw the race go into a Safety Car intervention as Pierre Gasly’s AlphaTauri caught on fire.

The French seemed to have a power failure and overheating, which might have caused the fire.

AlphaTauri are yet to determine the cause of the fire.

Red Bull’s sister team also had trouble with their engine, after Verstappen and Perez have been reporting throughout the race.

Yuki Tsunoda reported no problems to his team after the finished in eighth place.

During this safety car, all lapped cars which were the Aston Martins, the McLarens and the Williams had the opportunity to unlap themselves as per the new regulations.

Charles Leclerc also complained about the safety car being too close on the straights.

Lewis Hamilton Struggled on Hard Tyres

The Brit was the first to pit but claimed to his team that it “was an early pit stop.”

He changed to the hard compound which shocked the pitlane as it is unlikely for teams to use this tyre compound in Bahrain.

Hamilton struggled to have a grip on the first corner when he came out from the pitlane.

Later on, Mercedes pitted again on lap 28 to put the seven-time world champion on the medium compound.

Mercedes were the only team to try out this strategy and it did not seem to work well for both Lewis Hamilton and George Russell.

Despite the problems, Hamilton earned himself a third-place finish after Perez was forced to retire and Russell followed in fourth.

Esteban Ocon and Mick Schumacher Collision

Ocon collided with the Haas and got a five-second penalty.

Mick Schumacher had a great race in the Haas and almost earned himself points too but then was overtaken by Yuki Tsunoda, Ocon and Zhou Guanyu.

Final Results

  1. Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
  2. Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
  3. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
  4. George Russell (Mercedes)
  5. Kevin Magnussen (Haas)
  6. Valtteri Bottas (Alfa Romeo)
  7. Esteban Ocon (Alpine)
  8. Yuki Tsunoda (AlphaTauri)
  9. Fernando Alonso (Alpine)
  10. Zhou Guanyu (Alfa Romeo)
  11. Mick Schumacher (Haas)
  12. Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)
  13. Alex Albon (Williams)
  14. Daniel Ricciardo (McLaren)
  15. Lando Norris (McLaren)
  16. Nicholas Latifi (Williams)
  17. Nico Hulkenberg (Aston Martin)
  18. Sergio Perez (Red Bull) RETIRED
  19. Max Verstappen (Red Bull) RETIRED
  20. Pierre Gasly (AlphaTauri) RETIRED

Head Image Credit: Mark Thompson – Getty Images

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Zeen is a next generation WordPress theme. It’s powerful, beautifully designed and comes with everything you need to engage your visitors and increase conversions.

Back to the top